Thoughts for Thursday: The Ascension

In light of the gospel reading from Sunday I thought I would repost this:

***

Today is the Ascension of the Lord.

One of my favorite things about this feast day is all of the amazing art and iconography that has been created to commemorate it. By far, Salvador Dali’s “Ascension of Christ” is my favorite:

I’ll let you feast your eyes for a second.

I love the ‘apostles’ eye view’ of this painting, the curled fingers, the weird looking egg crate thing in the background. There are actually several icons/paintings showing the “disappearing feet” of Jesus.

I’m pretty sure this lady and I are long lost BFF’s, since we both love travel, art, architecture, and old churches. She has a great post about several different pieces of artwork featuring “just the feet” and some background on how it got started.

When I first saw an icon/painting of the ascension that was just the feet I thought it was quirky and kinda cool. While I love the traditional icons and art as well there is something about the different perspective of the feet paintings that resonates with me. Maybe it’s that out-of-the-box, different paradigm, unusual angle thing, and I’m kind of out-of-thebox, different paradigm, and unusual. It’s nice to know that in the year 400 there were people thinking creatively and differently about their religious art.

***

Lastly, I want to share this passage from Ephesians with you. I want you to know that I mean every word of it and I hope you put it in your pocket today, pull it out every once in a while, and read it.

” I do not cease to give thanks for you as I remember you in my prayers. I pray that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you a spirit of wisdom and revelation as you come to know him, so that, with the eyes of your heart enlightened, you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance among the saints, and what is the immeasurable greatness of his power for us who believe, according to the working of his great power.” (Ephesians 1:16-19)

2 responses to “Thoughts for Thursday: The Ascension

  1. Bosco Peters @ Liturgy had this amazing piece of Ascension Day art:
    http://liturgy.co.nz/ascensionday

    ~Charlotte

Leave a Reply

