Online Communion….What?

Apparently there is a new idea in some parishes to offer church services, bible study, counseling, and now communion online. Is there anything that can’t change with the times? While the rest of the world goes online for community, should the church follow? Are there certain things that must be done in person…in community? Would Jesus want us to abandon the one-on-one or is there a way to balance both? I am completely torn but my gut says this is wrong.

Counseling from different places…is the even possible? I get bible study and in some ways church services but I feel like counseling needs to be done in person. How do you comfort someone over the internet? What happens if you lose your signal during an especially difficult moment? I just don’t think it is healthy. One of the pastors interviewed had this to say which I agree with but shouldn’t that mean that we should be offering communion more often and not moving it online as the first option. I don’t know what do you think?

“The way we operate now, if you want to receive [communion], you have to come to my church sometime between the hours of 9 and 12 on Sunday morning,” Mr. Langford said. “I don’t think there’s any other institution in our country that can survive on that kind of business model.”

Leave a Reply

