TV On A Sunday

While channel surfing last night I came across a movie I haven’t seen in years, Forrest Gump.  I loved this movie when it came out.  I get that there a lot of people who don’t like this movie for one reason or another but I found it to be funny, lighthearted, and extremely perceptive.  I had forgotten most of the one liners when I watched it yesterday and one of them stuck with me.

Forrest Gump

 

While I sat all day today thinking about why I liked this quote so much, I came across this blog post about it and felt like it summed up my thoughts completely. I know I have a ton of houses to throw rocks at and not enough rocks to satisfy my pain.  Much like Scott though, I think if you spend your life looking for rocks to throw you will miss the things that make life beautiful.  There are plenty of passages in the bible calling us to forgive others.  Let go of what you can not control and forgive what can not be changed.  You do not need to excuse or forget in order to forgive.  And I find that most of the time the one person you really need to forgive is yourself.  I think C.S. Lewis said it best :

forgiveness

Leave a Reply

