Presidential Spirituality

I recently read this article about President Obama’s spirituality.

I like that he isn’t in-your-face about his faith, or wear a cross on his sleeve. I think spirituality is intensely personal and I would rather know that he cultivates a relationship with God in private.

Whatever your politics, or your faith, how important is it to you that the President have some kind of spirituality and/or spiritual discipline? How do you feel about the possibility of an atheist/agnostic president in the future?

Personally, I think it is very important that our leader have some kind of practice. Whether it’s meditation, devotionals, prayer, whatever, I think he (or she!) should be doing somethingIt’s pretty cool that our current president has devotionals written especially for him . It isn’t important to me WHAT exactly the President believes/practices, just that it is there. (Although I’m not sure how far a flying spaghetti monster candidate would go…)

Your thoughts?

 

PS–my favorite quote from this article: “This office tends to make a person pray more,” Obama said last year in an interview with Cathedral Age magazine. “And as President Lincoln once said, ‘I have been driven to my knees many times by the overwhelming conviction that I had no place else to go.'”

2 responses to “Presidential Spirituality

  1. Thanks for this post! I might not have known about this book, but I just bought it for my Kindle!

  2. Glad you liked it Cheryl! This was not a paid endorsement haha. I’ve been thinking about getting the book too

Leave a Reply

