Louis C. K. and Silence

There’s a pretty good chance you’ve already seen this video of Louis C. K. talking about smart phones, and why he doesn’t let his kid have them. If you haven’t, it’s worth watching.

“You need to build an ability to just be yourself and not be doing something,” he says, which I think is good advice. I find that when I leave my phone in my room or just leave the headphones out of my ears and the television off, after awhile I find a different kind of silence, and in the silence is sometimes sadness, but also insight and often peace, or something approaching it. Maybe that’s the voice of God.

One response to “Louis C. K. and Silence

  1. Love Louis CK! At work I can’t have my phone out and while sometimes that is frustrating it is also kind of liberating… Why is it so hard for us to be alone with ourselves? I find when I shut off the Netflix, internet, and phone (I think the term for that is “digital detox”…) I focus on things that need attention. the dishes, for instance, but also I talk to God more (and my cat). I have time to think about my life and what’s going on around me. It’s good to do that, I think.

Leave a Reply

