All Is Not Lost

OK Go sang this song 223 times to make this video, then stitched them together to make this video. I love the way OK Go’s videos are often feel good experiments.

The lyrics, too, are more hopeful than most: “When they say, All is lost, all is not lost. All is not lost at all.”

Which was a reminder I needed when I watched it yesterday, feeling kind of tired and grumpy. I don’t know, sometimes all it takes is a ridiculous video from the Wall Street Journal that makes me feel there is no hope for the human race. I sometimes need a little help to remember that this too shall pass, and that I need to do something to help it change.

Because yes, the world could be better, and yes, the church is an imperfect vessel,  as am I. I want to feed the hungry, and educate our children better and stop climate change. I also want to watch television. The problem is that watching television is easier than the other things.

Which is, I guess, why I need help from my community to remember that people are doing good and to push me to do better, to do a little more than complain. Our problems and our failures are also a call to action.

We may have to stitch together all the disparate and disorganized things we doing in order to do the work of God, but I know we have to do something. Like the disciples knew they had to preach, like Jesus knew he had to heal, like I know that all is not all well, but neither is it lost

Leave a Reply

