How to Pray When You’re Pissed at God

From a conversation over at Esquire between A. J. Jacobs and Ian Punnet about Punnet’s book, How To Pray When You’re Pissed at God:

ESQ: I like your section on the psychological benefits of prayer. Even I, an agnostic, like to do something that approximates prayers of thanksgiving. Helps me become slightly less self-absorbed.

IP: I think Atheists and agnostics would benefit from something that approximates prayer, and I did my best to address that in How to Pray When You’re Pissed at God. In its proper state, prayer for me is always about getting outside of myself and helping me become God’s eyes and hands. When anger, fear, resentments and frustrations disrupt that ability get outside of oneself, I believe the Bible calls us to be painfully truthful in our prayers, holding nothing back until we can get it all out of our system—without fear of being smote.

Read the rest here. Via Episcopal Cafe.

Leave a Reply

