Good Morning! Mandate Thursday

Guys, this is by far my favorite holy day.

http://www.pray-as-you-go.org/mp3/PAYG_130404.mp3

Today we celebrate the new commandment Jesus gave to his disciples after he washed their feet:

The Lord Jesus, after he had supped with his disciples and
had washed their feet, said to them, “Do you know what I,
your Lord and Master, have done to you? I have given you
an example, that you should do as I have done.”

Peace is my last gift to you, my own peace I now leave with
you; peace which the world cannot give, I give to you.

I give you a new commandment: Love one another as I have
loved you.

Peace is my last gift to you, my own peace I now leave with
you; peace which the world cannot give, I give to you.

By this shall the world know that you are my disciples: That
you have love for one another.

(BCP 274-275)

We get “Maundy” from the Middle English mande’, from the latin mandatum, from the first word of the phrase, “Mandatum novum do vobis ut diligatis invicem sicut dilexi vos” (A new commandment I give to you…) And if you’re like me, every year you think, uhh what does Maundy mean again? and you end up googling it for the thousandth time. A good way to remember what it means is to think “Mandate Thursday”… it certainly helps me!

One response to “Good Morning! Mandate Thursday

  1. Jeremiah Sierra

    I always forget where Maundy comes from. Mandate Thursday!

Leave a Reply

